DIY – Bug Umbrellas For Party Drinks

Bug Umbrellas for Party Drinks (photo by Cindy McNatt, Orange County Register)

Bug Umbrellas for Party Drinks
(photo by Cindy McNatt, Orange County Register)

Delightful, whimsical, playful

Bug Umbrellas

for the drinks at your next party ~

I saw an article in the Orange County Register about this clever little idea over the weekend.

Look at those bug umbrellas…ADORABLE! The simplicity and cuteness are perfect to brighten a table for any outdoor occasion.

Who wants a pesky fly in your drink? Here’s an easy solution… add bug-proof umbrellas!

What You Need:,

Cupcake Liners, Colorful Straws, and Scissors

How To:

Pinch the bottom of the Cupcake Liner in the center so that it folds. Cut a small triangle, just large enough for your straw to fit through.

End Result:

Colorful, Practical, and Fun Drink Covers!

You can find all kinds of decorative cupcake liners and straws these days. Try local craft stores like JoAnne’s, Michael’s, or Hobby Lobby in the cake-making department, Target and Walmart are other good sources, as well as Etsy.com.

I can’t wait for my next outdoor party! Thank goodness it’s summer; I’ll get a chance to try these very soon.

What clever ideas do you have?

Follow me on

I would love to hear from you…leave me a COMMENT. hmmm

This entry was posted in DIY, Food and Drink, Life With Lorelai, Whimsicality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to DIY – Bug Umbrellas For Party Drinks

  1. Cherie @ incherieswords.com says:

    OMG! I have to do this at my next gathering! Why didn’t I think of this long ago? No more flies or tiny bugs falling into people’s drink. Thank you, thank you for sharing!! πŸ™‚

  2. Michelle says:

    What a great idea!

  3. Such a great idea! I can’t remember where exactly I saw this before, but I saw the same cupcake liners in the picture at Michael’s today LOL Great post!

    Kristen from The Road to Domestication
    http://www.theroadtodomestication.com

  4. That is totally amazing and definitely needed during the summer months when you’re outside with your drinks. I can see the possibilities already. πŸ™‚

  5. These little umbrellas are such a great idea! Love it!

  6. becca says:

    So simple and yet perfect! I wish I had thought of this! I am totally going to look like a genius at the next party at our farm! (I’ll be sure to send them your way when they ask!) Totally Pinning this!!

    • I can imagine that a picnic at a farm could REALLY benefit from these adorable little Bug Umbrellas! LOL
      Genius away, my friend… Glad you like them, and thanks for the Pin! πŸ™‚

      ~Lorelai

  7. Every once in while I run across an idea that seem so obvious that I wonder why we all aren’t doing it. This is one of them. So easy. So fun.

Leave a Reply

