X-ray of a Blog – Blogging Tips Series pt. 2

X-ray of a Blog - Blogging Tips - Life With Lorelai

This is the Second article in a Three-part Series. If you missed the First installment of X-ray of a Blog, please go check it out.

FADE IN:

INT. EMERGENCY ROOM PATIENT’S ROOM

The heart monitor beeps.

NURSE
Doctor, we’re losing him.

DOCTOR
Hand me the paddles. Give me 360 joules.

NURSE
Ready, Doctor.

DOCTOR
Clear!

FADE OUT.

The X-ray of a Blog

In this three-part series, we will explore the attributes and make-up of a blog. In part one, we examined the Skeleton, Skin, Nervous System, and Brain. Part Two explores the Heart, Soul, Mouth, Eyes and Ears, and Hands. Once again, you will find links to help explain and provide you with more detail. Onto the X-ray…

candy heartsThe Heart

Posts are the heart, pumping life into your blog. Every entry a blogger makes needs to be well written and well planned. That does not mean that every post requires an exorbitant amount of research or time. Just be sure that what you post well done. It is not always easy to know what to post about; maybe some of these links will help.

funny-cat-pictures-lolcats-teh-soul-train-s-brokeThe Soul

A blogs Soul allows the reader to get to know the author. The style of writing, the About Page, and the personality of the blogger shines through. Readers like to connect with the blogger. Share your Soul; show them who you are.

small-wind-up-chattering-teeth-hopping-feet-toy-mouth-The Mouth

A mouth speaks, and that communication through a blog comes in the form of comments. Comments not only from your readers, but also from replies back from you, the blogger. Interact with your readers, engage them in conversation, encourage feedback. Commenting on blogs you read is also very important. Leaving comments not only helps gain readers and followers, but also it can be key in triggering inspiration for your blog.

mr-potato-head eyes and earsThe Eyes and Ears

You cannot use the senses of taste, touch, and smell on a blog, so the Eyes and Ears become all the more important. Be sure to use photographs, graphics, and videos to the best possible advantage.

Graphics and Fonts: A How To

Get Images To Behave In Blogger

How To Edit Photos with Pixlr Express

Top Ten PicMonkey Tutorials

How To Label Your Photos for Pinterest

10 Tips For Taking Pictures of Your Kids

One Simple Tip to Make Your Blog Stand Out

Make Sense of Shooting Modes

Clip Art Sources

How To Make Clip Art For Your Blog

Vlogging Tips

Video Blogging Tips & Tricks

7 Vlogging Tips to Become a Brand Ambassador

YouTube Optimization

funny-peace-sign-handsThe Hands

Learn how to use your Hands to make your blog more interesting. Give your readers the opportunity to be interactive on your site with games, forms, surveys, printables, downloads and more.

How to Make Printable Recipes

How to Attach a Document to a Blog Post

How To PDF

How To Create a Printable on PicMonkey

How To Create a Printable on Microsoft Word

How To Add Zip Files to Blogger

This series is jammed packed with great information. I hope you find it helpful.
Part Three of this X-ray of a Blog Series will examine the Muscles, Health, Feet, Veins, and Stomach. Look for it next Wednesday, August 21st.

What did you find most helpful or interesting?

Do you have any tips or tricks you can share?

Follow me on

I would love to hear from youleave me a Comment. hmmm

~Lorelai

This entry was posted in Blogging, Life With Lorelai and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to X-ray of a Blog – Blogging Tips Series pt. 2

  1. Thanks so much for sharing my post!

  2. Thanks for the tips! I may need to add your posts (links) to my “blogger resources” page. 🙂

  3. Jill says:

    These are great tips! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Sarah says:

    Great tips for a newbie like me 🙂

  5. Oh, there is not enough time to embrace all of the awesomeness in this post! Thankfully I have a somewhat free day coming up on Saturday – gonna dive in then!

    Kristen from The Road to Domestication

  6. Bookmarking yet again! You’ve rounded up so much information that I’ve not read before. Thank you Lorelai!

  7. Crystal says:

    Some great tips here again! Thank you – wish I could pin this.

  8. Tammy Doiel says:

    Thanks so much for these tips!! Definitely bookmarking these!

  9. I need the Soul part the most. I keep putting off fixing up my About page. Boo to me. I also love the Hands portion. I really love love the analogy you’re using for this whole series. It’s genius! I’m sharing your post with my peeps!

  10. I love these series. So much helpful information. Thank you for putting this together. Love it!!

  11. Love Joy says:

    This is really a great help for a new blogger like me. Thanks much for sharing 🙂

  12. durangocodeals says:

    I will be bookmarking this post and returning to it time and time again! My poor brain can’t even take in all its awesome info this late in the day! Thank you for this and I can’t wait to read thru each and every one of them!

    • Thanks for bookmarking this post. Remember to check out part 1 of the series, and return next week for part 3… This series was built to return to and use as an ongoing source. Good luck with your blogging. 🙂

  13. Lorelai, did I tell you that you are a genie! Now, I need to know how do you manage to find the time to read and link all those awesome blog helps!? Thank you so much for sharing, definitely a place to come back and learn more.

  14. This is such amazing information! I’m bookmarking this to come back later and explore more fully.

  15. Holy Cow Lorelai! You are amazing for rounding up all this information! It’s going on my naptime reading list, Thank you! =)

  16. I really love the links on printables! I need to start doing this. I really like this series. So much good information!

  17. Lorelai Congratulations! You have been featured on At The Lake – http://regina-atthelake.blogspot.com/2013/08/blog-crushin-from-blogs-to-crafts-to.html. You are part of our Blog Crush post today.

  18. Pingback: Blog Crushin – from Blogs to Crafts to Life! | Regina At The Lake

Leave a comment