Monday Mournings – It’s Finally Final

ho_ho_ho_my_divorce_is_final_card - zazzle-com

After over 4-1/2 torturous years, my divorce was finalized on December 3rd! As awful as a divorce is, I am so relieved to have it over… it truly was my Christmas Wish come true. Christopher did not make the judge happy, so I got everything I asked for and then some. I was absolutely shocked at how well the final day in court went. Now, once things settle down and everything starts flowing according to the court order, Rory and I should be doing a little better.

The judge also told Christopher that he had just 2 weeks to get his crap stuff off my property, or else I could deal with it as I wish. His deadline is December 17th… and guess who still has a boatload of stuff here. I have been so busy trying to clean things out and get all of his stuff together in one place. That way he is here for the shortest amount of time possible.

It also seems that Rory was approved for SSI. This is fantastic news as well. We do not have an official approval letter yet from Social Security, but she has a payment in the bank!

Rory’s final (I hope) IEP for school was done on December 6th. Everything stayed the same, which is exactly what we wanted. Woo Hoo!

The first week of December was AWESOME! The second week found Rory picked for two solos in the school Christmas Concert. She is so excited. The concert falls on mine and Luke’s 2-year anniversary of dating.

It’s a happy, happy Christmas! I hope your December is happy too.

You might ALSO LIKE:

Follow me on

I would love to hear from youleave me a Comment. hmmm

~Lorelai

This entry was posted in Family, Legal, Life, Life With Lorelai, Monday Mournings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Monday Mournings – It’s Finally Final

  1. I’m so glad to hear things are wrapping up and working out. That is such a long time to be dealing with a divorce process. Ugh. How awful. Now you can truly begin the next chapter of your life šŸ™‚

  2. As sad as divorces are, it’s such a relief to have it over with. I’m shocked that California law allows divorces to drag on this long. It can’t be good for anyone.
    How exciting for everything to be happening at once though! Congratulations to Rory for her solos, your ‘dating’ anniversary, for SSI approving Rory too, and of course for the judge seeing your ex for what he is.
    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas Lorelai! You’re such a sweetheart. I can’t imagine anyone who deserves it more.

    • It really was very hard on everyone. You would think there would be something in place to keep them from procrastinating and refusing to do what they need to do and are ordered by the court to do, especially when he was the one to have filed in the first place. Lives should not be allowed to be disrupted for so long.

      But everything is coming up roses now! Thanks for your kind wishes, Missy… love you too! šŸ™‚

  3. Wow Lorelai seems like Santa came early to your house this year. I’m soooo happy that everything is finally working out. It has really been a long time with that divorce process and I’m happy that Rory finally got her approval. Here’s hoping for even bigger and better things in 2014.

  4. Heather says:

    I hope that in spite of so many obstacles over the last few years, you DO end up having a very wonderful, very Merry Christmas!
    Blessings,
    ~Heather

  5. That is such a long time for a divorce. It amazes me that these things can drag out for years. The upside of not getting married; I can toss someone’s belongings on the front porch when it’s over, and we both move on rather quickly from there.

    I’m happy things are looking up for you!

    • I am a believer in marriage (or I would never have stayed for over 24 years), but I can definitely see where you have a huge benefit in the break-up department. We are happily looking forward to the new year, and new beginnings! šŸ™‚

  6. I’m glad you got more than you thought you would! Cheers to a better year in 2014!

  7. Brandi @ Finding the Path for Me says:

    Now I understand why we didn’t hear from you for a bit! I am happy that you are doing well.

  8. Such a long process, but what a great Christmas you will have. So glad that everything is working out well for you – Merry Christmas! ~Renee

  9. I’m so glad you’re finally getting the closure you SO deserve!!! What a wonderful Christmas it will be!

  10. nevafels says:

    My good wishes to you for a new start in the new year. http://retireforthefunofit.com

  11. DeDivahDeals says:

    Woohoo – congratulations and happy holidays!

  12. Adelien says:

    It must be a very long waiting time for you. Anyway, I wish you have a merry Christmas and happy new year.

  13. Wow, what a long emotional road to travel. So happy you are all thriving in the face of some craziness… but the big story here is WAY TO GO RORY!! She’s been acknowledged by receiving SSI, the upcoming performances.. WOW! Well done Mom, Lorelai. Raising kids in the midst of life chaos is hard and you do it so well!

  14. Zan Turner says:

    Had no idea you were going through a divorce. You got many Christmas wishes:)

  15. livinthemomlife says:

    I remember when my divorce was finalized! My now husband took me out for sushi and martinis! Ours was way easy though because we had no kids and no assets but it still took over a year! Sorry to hear you went through that but at the end, you just want it to be over! So congrats!

    • Yes, it’s over, and I am thrilled! Luke took me out for dinner too. It was so cold here that all I wanted was soup and salad, but he took me out for a wonderful prime rib dinner that weekend. Yum! šŸ™‚

  16. Bonnie Frank says:

    I’m glad that your future is definitely brighter now that you don’t have that load to bear. I wish you only good and happy things for the year to come.

Leave a Reply

